Cell towers in Abingdon, Virginia
The FCC register lists 21 antenna structures in and around Abingdon. That is the 22nd highest count of any place in Virginia.
Overview
Abingdon, VA has 21 registered structures, the tallest standing 109 m (357 ft) above ground.
Density works out to 2.61 registered structures per square mile of land area.
The median registered structure here stands 59 m (195 ft); the tallest reaches 109 m (357 ft).
The largest registered owner here is Alltel Corporation, which holds 4 of them — 19.0% of the local total. Owner is not the same as carrier: tower companies lease space on their structures to several networks at once.
The most recent registration on file here dates from 2026.
Structure types
| Tower | 8 | 38% |
| Lattice tower | 5 | 24% |
| Monopole | 4 | 19% |
| Pole | 2 | 10% |
| Not specified | 1 | 5% |
| Mast | 1 | 5% |
Largest registered owners
owner is not the same as carrier| Alltel Corporation Carrier | 4 | 19% |
| Norfolk Southern Railway Company Railroad | 3 | 14% |
| Sba Properties, LLC Tower company | 2 | 10% |
| Town of Abingdon Government | 1 | 5% |
| Virginia Department of Forestry Government | 1 | 5% |
Tallest registered structures
| Height | Type | Built | Owner | ASR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 109 m (357 ft) | Not specified | 1956 | Alltel Corporation | 121250 |
| 79 m (260 ft) | Tower | 2001 | Sba Properties, LLC | 2619111 |
| 77 m (254 ft) | Tower | 2004 | Alltel Corporation | 2639422 |
| 75 m (246 ft) | Lattice tower | 1987 | Crown Castle Gt Company, LLC | 601588 |
| 67 m (220 ft) | Tower | 1970 | Vertical Bridge Towers V, LLC | 119356 |
| 61 m (199 ft) | Monopole | 2020 | Towerco 2013 LLC | 2706606 |
| 61 m (199 ft) | Monopole | 2023 | Southern Towers Bts, LP | 2723921 |
| 61 m (199 ft) | Mast | 2004 | Alltel Corporation | 2639090 |
| 61 m (199 ft) | Pole | 2005 | Alltel Corporation | 2645770 |
| 60 m (197 ft) | Tower | 1999 | Crown Castle South LLC | 102622 |
| 59 m (195 ft) | Lattice tower | 2026 | Washington County | 2731174 |
| 59 m (195 ft) | Tower | 1999 | Sba Towers, LLC | 2601207 |
| 43 m (142 ft) | Monopole | 2020 | Apex Towers, LLC | 2715502 |
| 38 m (126 ft) | Tower | 2013 | Town of Abingdon | 2683430 |
| 37 m (122 ft) | Tower | 2001 | Connect Holding LLC D/b/a Brightspeed | 2609463 |
| 34 m (113 ft) | Lattice tower | 2001 | Sba Properties, LLC | 2624096 |
| 34 m (110 ft) | Lattice tower | 2018 | Norfolk Southern Railway Company | 2704819 |
| 30 m (98 ft) | Lattice tower | 2017 | Washington County Sheriffs Office | 2700975 |
| 24 m (79 ft) | Pole | 1984 | Norfolk Southern Railway Company | 2636055 |
| 19 m (63 ft) | Monopole | 2017 | Norfolk Southern Railway Company | 2697977 |
| 17 m (57 ft) | Tower | 2003 | Virginia Department of Forestry | 2636703 |
When they were registered
| 1950s | 1 | 5% |
| 1970s | 1 | 5% |
| 1980s | 2 | 10% |
| 1990s | 2 | 10% |
| 2000s | 7 | 33% |
| 2010s | 4 | 19% |
| 2020s | 4 | 19% |
Nearby places
- Meadowview 5
- Bristol 12
- Lebanon 5
- Marion 10
- Raven 5
About this data
All figures on this page are aggregated from the federal antenna structure register of 2026-08-23, not from carrier coverage data. The two answer different questions.
The FCC Antenna Structure Registration database covers structures that require registration — generally those over 200 feet or near airports. Many small cells, rooftop antennas and short towers are not registered and will not appear here.
"Owner" is the entity that registered the structure, usually a tower company such as American Tower or Crown Castle. It does not indicate which carriers operate equipment on the structure.